“Astounding Asturias”

I´m retaking Paul Richardson´s excellent article about “Astounding Asturias”. I would  like to share this unmatched description about this northern region of Spain for all the travel lovers that haven’t yet put a step in this idyllic land.

Why unspoilt Asturias is a secret I just have to share

Acclaimed food writer Paul Richardson lives in southern Spain but it is the northern region of Asturias with its fertile valleys and stunning coast – and distinctive food and drink – that he tells his friends to explore before it’s too late.

Don’t get me started about Asturias. I could go on and on about this inexplicably little-visited region wedged between Galicia and Cantabria along the north coast of Spain. I have been known to get very boring about its dramatic landscapes, its superb beaches, its excellent food, its unique pre-Romanesque architecture, its affable locals, and the strange fact that, as yet, few people seem to share my unbridled enthusiasm for the place.

Sports Marina Ribadesella

Sports Marina Ribadesella

Asturias is very Spanish in some ways, and surprisingly unlike the rest of the country in many others. Its Celtic, Atlantic culture is the polar opposite of the indolent, sherry-sipping, sun-lounging outdoor life of the Mediterranean.

Lakes at the National Reserve “Picos de Europa” , eastern Asturias.

The greenness of Asturias is astounding, especially if you’re coming from the parched plains of the Spanish south. You might also argue that the region is a microcosm of Spain as a whole, cramming into its borders everything from snowy mountains to sandy beaches, humble tapas bars to avant-garde restaurants, and from raucous local fiestas to silent valleys where bears and wolves still roam. The community has no fewer than 24 nature reserves, including one parque nacional and three of Spain’s largest parques naturales.

The fishermens port of Lastres.

Where I live, in the Spanish south, three months of spring had gone by without a drop of rain, and the countryside bore a withered, desperate look. Tired of dust and unseasonal heats, I wanted greenness and pleasantness, mountain streams and ocean views. So I worked up a trip, my fourth or fifth to the region, that would take in a little of each of the things I love about Asturias: the rural essences, the modest urban pleasures, the beaches and the wild interior, the simple traditional food and the fab contemporary cuisine. To continue reading please follow this link.

About gustavop

Civil Engineer & Real Estate Consultant. Living in Asturias.

10 comments

  1. I visited Asturias for the first time this past weekend, and like you said, the greenness was just amazing. It’s such a beautiful place.

    • It´s good to hear that you´ve enjoyed your trip, despite the rain of the weekend. I´ve been living here since 2006, and I still don´t get tired of the landscapes. Saludos.

  2. I would live there in a heartbeat. Beautiful.

  3. So far I never managed to visit Asturias – but I always wanted to see the Picos de Europa – and the picture you visited is also very beautiful…

    • Thanks. The weather is currently not good for taking some shots, as soon as I can I will add a “Picos de Europa gallery”.
      Your blog is quite nice, I’m gonna follow it with attention. Regards.

  4. Very beautiful contry. From someone who appreciates what is in their own Country, thankyou!

    • Thank you for stopping by my site. I’ve been at British Columbia, a long time ago, those rocky mountains you show look very similar to the “Picos de Europa” located in Asturias, Cantabria and Castilla León. In my next post I will show a few pictures of these peaks formations.
      Regards.

  5. Of course this north eastern corner of Spain is a wonderful place—the people are Celts, the descendants of the Milesians who sailed to Ireland, fought the Tuatha Dé Danann and settled there. It might be a just a story, but then again there is evidence that it might not be so far-fetched after all.

    • I didnt knew about “Tuatha Dé Danann” fight, I will make some research, it will be very interesting to write a post about this issue. I if I have any doubt, I will get in touch with you for some advise, if you dont mind.
      Thank very much for your comment,
      Saludos.

Leave a Reply

